AutoMemory #1 – Ford Cortina BJP566D

P67

THE maroon Cortina is the first family car I remember. Frankly it’s so long ago that I really only recall two things: the distinctive rear light clusters and my confusion over registration numbers. Well, three things if you include it being the first time I’d heard the word “maroon”.

And what, you may ask, was the thing with registration numbers? Simply that on one occasion Dad mentioned that the registration plate showed that the car was made in 1966. Since the number 66 was part of the registration I naturally assumed in my five-or-six-year-old way that it was the numbers you had to look at. It was several years before I understood the significance of the registration letter. Trauma indeed. Ironically nowadays it is indeed the numbers that matter – it took a few decades but I was right in the end.

There you go – the mark 1 Ford Cortina, circa 1966. I know there were earlier family vehicles (a Ford Popular and an Anglia, for example) but they were before my time so they don’t count.

More AutoMemories will follow. You have been warned.

One thought on “AutoMemory #1 – Ford Cortina BJP566D

  1. At the risk of stating the bloomin’ obvious, the photo is not the original car! Apart from the colour and the registration, though, it’s a fair indication of what I’m talking about 🙂

Leave a Reply

