The most important thing in life, ever: I know what it is

Ooooh, a tad arrogant that title? Confident, I would say. Positive, sure, clear, definite. They all sound better than the “a” word. But if, in the end, it’s arrogant to suggest that you know something and that not everyone thinks the same – then, yes, m’lud – guilty as charged.

In these politically correct, postmodern times it’s just not done to say that one thing is true and – shock, horror! – other things are not true. Or, more to the point, it’s not even contemplated, let alone done, to suggest that your view is wrong (excuse my language) while my view is (forgive me) right. Nevertheless, here I am, sticking my head above the proverbial parapet and declaring, “Hellooooo! I have some important information, some truth about life, and I believe it utterly and I think it’s soooo important that you all need to know it.”

Sorry.

Sorry, that is, if you’re offended (although I haven’t actually given you any decent reason to be so yet). Not sorry, oh, most definitely unapologetic, for saying what I say. I do understand absolutely that not everyone will share my view. And that they have a right to hold a different one. What I cannot be doing with is the notion that it’s OK to hold a view but somehow not OK to reach the obvious conclusion that other views are incorrect in some way. The person who sees life differently ought to be comfortable enough with their philosophy not to be offended by the simple fact that I think they’re wrong.

But I didn’t actually intend for this to be a railing against PC-ness and relativism. What I intended was to point you to a page where you can discover just what this highly important thing is – and then make your own mind up.

The page http://www.thebamproject.com/articles/2/mark-pimperton is the text of a nifty foldy-up leaflet that’s just been printed – and if I ever get to meet you I’ll happily give you one as it has attractive pictures as well as the gripping text. It’ll fit in your pocket for later perusal and then you can dwell on it as you slice the bread or wait for the bus. Now there’s a thought.

Until then, pop over to the online version and let me know what you think.

Thank you, in anticipation.

Leave a Reply

