Creation or Evolution: Who cares?

First, A Story of Old

IN the beginning, man created a special box. And man said, “Let the box be filled with controversial and contentious conversational topics.” And it was so. And man named his box “Taboos”.  The Box Of Taboos constrained and confined all manner of dangerous and socially unacceptable discussions. Among them were Politics, Religion, Death, Sex, The End Times – and Creation. And man decreed that The Box Of Taboos shall remain firmly shut to all but the brave and the foolhardy. For the Taboos were known to set friend against friend, brother against brother, tribe against tribe. Discussion of The Taboos was like a two-headed beast, and the names of the two heads were Divisive and Pointless.

Generation after generation would teach this poem to their offspring:

The taboos will divide us so what’s the point?
Division is pointless so leave the taboos where they belong.
No good can come of it so leave them in The Box, in The Box
No good can come of it so leave them in The Box, in The Box

Yet from time to time, heroes would arise. Fearless men and women would tear open The Box without hesitation, fired by deep convictions and a fierce determination to liberate The Taboos and bring them in to the kingdom of Serving Their God-Ordained Purpose. They too sang their song:

Division there may be but pointless they are not
Stand we now against the enemy’s lie
No more in the confines of The Box
No more Taboo
For we believe there is a point
For we believe there is a point
And we will find it

Meanwhile, back in The Present Day…

Creation

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. Or did He? And if He did, did He do it in seven days, Garden of Eden, Adam and Eve and all that? Or did He set something in motion that caused the Big Bang billions of years ago and, after a jolly long wait, produced mankind via Darwinian evolution and natural selection? And, frankly, what does it matter how He did it, if He did it?

I’m betting that, for at least some of you, I’m making your Taboo Sensor tingle. Possibly you’re stifling a yawn. You may be far too placid to worry about the beast’s head called Divisive, but the one named Pointless is rearing large and ugly, even as you read. But can I urge you, as they say, to bear with me.

Let me assure you that this is no detailed study or academic paper. Riddled with references and links it shall not be. And, it has to be said, lacking in scientific, theological and logical rigour it almost certainly will be. But there is a point. In fact there’s more than one point. Hoorah.

  • Point One is that I believe the Bible. I believe the Old and New Testaments are the inspired, infallible Word of God.
  • Point Two is that I believe that everything in the Bible is there for a reason. Not a single word is, to coin the phrase, pointless.
  • Point Three is that when I want to know how the world came about I believe the Bible tells me. And, yes, it’s that whole Genesis, Tree of Life, “let there be light” stuff. I believe it. I do. I know many folks will want to mock or argue or shoot me down in flames, but there you are. Or, rather, there I am; an intelligent chap, seen a lot of life, heard a lot of stuff, and still I choose to believe the Bible. 

And that means I’m a creationist. Because I also believe the Bible is an all-or-nothing deal. If one bit falls, it all falls. If one bit’s fanciful nonsense, it’s all fanciful nonsense. I don’t accept for a moment the notion of Pick ‘n’ Mix scriptures. And that makes it easy to choose which explanations of creation I believe. 

It’s not fashionable, but since when is that a way of deciding what’s true? And, as already announced, though I’m not attempting any theological or scientific scrutiny here, there are thousands of Bible-believing Christians who do. What’s more, there are just as many scientific explanations and theories to support the Biblical creation narrative (including the great flood) as there are to support the commonly-accepted “truth”.

Now if that’s not ripping a Taboo forcibly out of The Box I don’t know what is. But my goal isn’t to stir up heated debate (though you can if you like) but to say that, for me, Creation or Evolution matters. Because to believe evolution I have to start dismantling my belief in the Bible. You may disagree, but to me that’s a slippery slope that doesn’t add up (if you’ll excuse my appallingly mixed metaphors). 

So, in the words of Martin Luther, here I stand; I can do no other. I believe God made our world in seven days, I believe He’s in control of the universe and I believe the day’s coming when He’ll wrap it all up and make a new one.

Divisive? I hope not. Pointless? No, no, and thrice no.

What about you? Where do you think it all began?

Leave a Reply

