Interview With Best-Selling Novelist Solomon Traycer

Recently we at Mark: My Words were fortunate enough to spend some time with renowned thriller writer Solomon Traycer. Although we’d hoped to catch up with him in his Hampshire cottage, his agent was adamant he would only talk to us at the M:MW offices.

 

Our first job was to find some offices. The best we could come up with was hiring the British Leyland Business Suite at the Travelodge just off junction 3 of the M42. Not exactly opulent surroundings, and having to nip to the Little Chef every time you wanted a Danish pastry was a pain. We just hoped Solomon would understand, having been a struggling artist in his time. In the end we needn’t have fretted, especially as Sol (as he’s known to his friends) brought a bag of six Morrisons croissants.

MMW: Thanks for giving us your time today; it’s a pleasure to meet you.

ST: You are absolutely welcome. The West Midlands is quite charming and grossly under-rated in my opinion. If you like that sort of thing.

MMW: Can we start by asking you where you were born?

ST: Of course.

MMW: So…where were you…born?

ST: Right, right. Well, to be honest, depends who you talk to. Been told everywhere from Barecelona to Huddersfield over the years. And I had a cousin who insisted I was born on another planet.

MMW: Nobody seems quite sure how old you are.

ST: Hah! You and me both. I have a lot of memories…so many…just not sure how far back they go.

MMW: Surely your birth certificate…?

ST: How about we talk about my books? I have one due out next month.

MMW: Absolutely. I know it’s the tenth in the Rider of the Ages series, but is it the last?

ST: I honestly can’t tell you. When we published Fury of the Ages four years ago it was designed to be the last. The loose ends were tied up and that was that. I had so many other projects on the go I was ready to move on, but the demand from the public for more was overwhelming. I left it for a couple of years while I worked on The Ash Pit but now here we are. I’ve learnt always to leave a little something in a novel so it can be picked up again should the opportunity arise, and this time I needed it! So, who knows? Never say never again, I say.

MMW: Those other projects included a venture into the music scene. What prompted that?

Traycer Band gig, 2011

ST: I like to surprise. Many authors take to writing later in life after doing other things. I’ve been writing as long as I can remember, so why not do it the other way round?

MMW: And the indications so far are that fans love this latest surprise. You seem to be in more demand than ever. I’ve even heard it said that the papers want to know whose shirts you wear!

ST: It’s exciting and very humbling. Almost like being born again. Me, a guitar, a bunch of outstanding musicians and instant interaction with my audience. Out of this world and quite, quite cosmic. Oh, and mostly they’re BHS. The shirts.

MMW: Solomon, there’s so much more we’d love to ask you but unfortunately we could only get a morning’s booking of the British Leyland Business Suite as it’s needed by the Wolverhampton & Dudley Austin Allegro Preservation Society this afternoon. So, for now, thank you very much.

ST: No sweat.

MMW: Might we be able to persuade you to write guest posts on our blog?

ST: Call my agent.

4 thoughts on “Interview With Best-Selling Novelist Solomon Traycer

  1. Oh, my, I’m such a huge Soloman Traycer fan! Everything he does is brilliant. I’ve even had the pleasure of working with him musically a couple of times, and it was not only an honour but also loads of fun, too. Such an enigma, but genuine as well, you know. Great interview. Can’t wait to see the guest blogs…you know, if that works out and all. Brilliant.

  2. Pingback: Plectrum to Pen: Traycer hints at next writing project | Mark: My Words

Leave a Reply

