iPad Battery Dying: May have found the culprit(s)

Image

I’ve always been impressed by my iPad’s battery life (~10 hours of use) but a few weeks back had repeated recurrences of it going flat overnight. So flat, in fact, that it refused to wake up until I connected the charger.

My first thought was that some rogue application (or “app” as we young trendies call them) was doing something in the background I wasn’t aware of. A search revealed a list of “top 10 battery killers” (which I would gladly have provided a link to but can no longer find!). #1 was Google Earth. This made some sense to me as I’ve rarely used it but certainly had done the weekend I started having problems.

After that I made a point of closing Google Earth if I used it. Unfortunately my Dead Battery Syndrome persisted.

Back to the Internet, where there’s no shortage of battery-saving tips, most of which I thought I’d already taken care of. As it turned out, there were two settings that had changed and which I believe may have been the cause:

  • Auto-Lock was set to Never instead of every x minutes. That means that if something happened to illuminate the screen, it might never go off again. I’d changed the setting when somebody else borrowed the iPad and I didn’t want to tell them what the lock code was. Once they’d finished I should have set it back.
  • Email was set to Push. My messages aren’t that vital that I have to have them immediately, so I’d always set email to collect on a schedule. I suspect it got set back to Push when I removed & re-added an account.

I reverted those two settings and followed another piece of advice to give the battery a long charge – they suggested up to 48 hours but I stopped at close to 24 hours.

Since that I’ve not had a Dead Battery for almost a week.

Leave a Reply

