Android Irritations: How I stopped Google Play Services demanding that I update my phone number

I have a confession to make: Despite being an IT type of many years’ standing I’ve only recently acquired a smartphone. I know! For various reasons, until 2017 I stuck to a distinctly non-smart but very compact Nokia 2332. Finally prompted by the withdrawal of my pay-as-you-go tariff by TalkTalk and not wanting to be shunted to Vodafone, I entered the wonderful world of Android.

(For the phone geeks out there, my weapon of choice was a Huawei P8 Lite 2017. Yes, I do like it, no, this isn’t a review.)

Anyhoo, I soon discovered that every time the phone restarted, I would get a cheery notification from Google Play Services a bit like this:

google_play_services

(Actually mine said, “It looks like you changed your phone number…”.)

When this first appeared I dutifully followed the prompts, logged into my Google account and discovered – as I’d thought – that my phone number was already there, and was already correct. Mild irritation.

Next time I switched on my phone, same thing. And the next time. And the next time. And…you get the idea.

Being an IT pro, I called on all my accumulated experience and detailed technical knowledge by searching Google. I found other people similarly irritated but no fix.

I thought it might be because my phone number was wrong in the system settings (it showed the number given me by my new provider before I ported my old one), so duly contacted the provider and asked for a network refresh (or some such term). This did the trick as far as the system phone number was concerned but didn’t stop Mr Google greeting me each morning.

Boo.

App Data

Finally, after putting up with it for several months, I conquered it, courtesy of MultiMatt (whose problem was almost identical to mine) and Ed Nisley (whose proposed fix did the trick). The fix was: Clear the app data for “Google Play Services”, as described in Ed’s post.

After clearing the data I restarted the phone and it told me I now had no backup account (i.e. my apps, photos, etc. were no longer being backed up to Google). So I just picked an account and all was happy again. I’ve not seen the unwelcome notification since.rejoicing

You’re welcome.

Advertisements

Author: mark1408

Over 50 years' experience of being me. Working in the world of IT and writing in the hope of making you think, laugh or at least read more of my stuff.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s