BACK in 2012 I posed the question: Creation or Evolution: Who cares?, making clear that I did, for one. The intervening 12 or so years have only increased my conviction that Darwinian evolution and Earth being billions of years old are great ideas – apart from the lack of evidence, and the abundance of evidence to the contrary.

As I said at the time, I know this isn’t a popular standpoint, but popularity is a notoriously unreliable measure of truth, right and wrong or significance. At one time it was unpopular to campaign for the abolition of slavery or women’s rights. And many political leaders have arisen in recent history who proved extremely popular but frighteningly dangerous. So the fact that I’m in a minority doesn’t mean I’m wrong. But what about that significance factor? Or, to put it another way, Who Cares? There are two big reasons why I care that many folk accept the evolutionist narrative:

  • It’s bad science. By which I mean the evolutionist stance has deceived countless thousands of people for two hundred years or so despite there being no actual proof, despite several attempts to falsify evidence and despite there being explanations which fit the evidence far better.
  • It’s a worldview designed to eliminate belief in a creator. And I happen to think that’s rather significant.

What’s all this about salt, then?

This is one of those “inconvenient truths” (as Al Gore would say) that cast serious doubt on Earth being billions of years old. The issue is explained in this article. The dilemma for evolution, in summary, is this:

  • Evolution requires billions of years to “work” (i.e. to change so-called “primitive lifeforms” into, well, us).
  • If the Earth was billions of years old, the seas would be way, way, way more salty than they actually are.

Take a look at the article – it only takes a few minutes to get down to the conclusion, which starts:

The salinity of the oceans is strong evidence that they, and the Earth itself, are far younger than the billions of years required for evolution, and is consistent with the biblical age of about 6,000 years.

https://creation.com/salty-seas-evidence-for-a-young-earth

Seeking to bring balance to my post, I searched for articles giving alternative explanations for the salinity evidence. I found plenty of people explaining changes in seawater salinity over time but didn’t spot anyone explaining how we could have that data with an Earth age of billions of years. But maybe my search wasn’t thorough enough.

If you know of a better explanation, or have found someone else with one, please let me know in the comments below.